The Structural Engineers Association of Wisconsin (SEAWI) Excellence in Structural Engineering Awards will recognize projects demonstrating exceptional innovation, creativity and constructability.  Winners will be presented at the SEAWI Fall Conference. 


  • Construction must have been substantially completed between January 1st, 2017 and June 30, 2020.  New buildings, renovations (including structural upgrades), and transportation structures are eligible for entry.
  • Projects need not be located in Wisconsin. However, at least 80% of the structural design work must be completed by engineers residing in Wisconsin.

Categories of Awards:

Awards will be presented in two project categories:

1.  Project Under $10M in Construction Cost.

2.  Project Over $10M in Construction Cost.

3.  Structural Component or System. This category allows engineers who worked on one exceptional aspect of a project to be nominated.  This allows a unique piece of a large project to be nominated without submitting the entire project.  Examples may include an exceptional foundation system, curtain wall, roof system, connection solution, etc.

Construction Cost:

The stated construction cost of the entry shall be the approximate construction cost of the facility being entered, exclusive of site construction costs or the cost of other portions of the project.


The selection of award recipients will be made by a Jury of Professionals. There will be a jury made up of three SEAWI members. Judges and their firms are not eligible to submit projects.

Judging Criteria:

Projects will be judged on their overall structural engineering achievement based on the following five criteria:

1.   Creativity of structural design
2.   Technical innovations and their influence on design
3.   Ingenuity of design for efficient use of material and labor
4.   How the design solved unusual problems
5.   Quality of execution

Point values will be assigned (1 to 10) in each criterion for a total of 50 points max. Entrants should consider all phases of the project, including the plan, design, and construction.

Submission Guidelines:

Entrants must complete the short submission form - follow link under 'Entry Form' - by October 21, 2020.

Presentation of Awards:

Awards will be announced at the SEAWI Fall Technical Conference to be held in mid-November. The Awards Coordinator will notify winners by email prior to the meeting. Award recipients will be requested to make a 15 to 30 minute presentation about their project at the Fall Conference.

Award recipients will be published in the Daily Reporter as well as win prizes. 

Ownerships and Publication of Entries:

All entries become the property of SEAWI and will not be returned. SEAWI reserves the right to use or publish some or the entire material in publications. By entering, the entrant grants a royalty-free license to SEAWI to use any copyrighted material submitted. Such right includes publication of photographs and names of award winners without compensation to entrants.

Entry Form:

Click here to complete the entry form.

Awards Coordinator:

Michael E. Blodgett, PE

Contact for Questions: 

[email protected] 

Past Award Recipients:

Small Project Awards:
2019 - West Entrance Addition and Renovations at Aspirus Wausau Hospital (raSmith)
2017 - Sage on Prospect (Spire Engineering)
2016 - Highland Manor Community Safety Room (R.A. Smith National and Spancrete)
2015 - Eckstein Municipal Pool Facility (Delta 3 Engineering)
2014 - Athletic Park (Ionic Structures and Design, LLC)
2013 - St. Marcus, Phase II (Pierce Engineers, Inc.)
Large Project Awards:
2019 - Northwestern Mutual Commons (ZS, LLC)
2017 - Acuity East Galleria (Pierce Engineers, Inc.)
2016 - One Menasha Center (Performa, Inc.)
2015 - UW Health at the American Center (Flad Structural Engineers)
2014 - The Edgewater Hotel (Pierce Engineers, Inc.)
2013 - Rolling Mill #2, "White Lightning" (Computerized Structural Design, S.C.)

Component Awards:
2019 - Rutgers Chemistry and Chemical Biology Building Stair (Flad Structural Engineers)
2017 - Belmark Skywalk (Performa, Inc.)